I am (not) Switzerland

 This is my friend Jessica.

 

 

 Jess and I met through our college ministry.  We played intramural soccer together and hung out a little, but we really got close while on a spring break mission trip in 2006. 

I don’t remember exactly what we bonded over at first, but I know that all of a sudden I had this crazy fun friend that I felt super-close to.  We nailed roofs, did cartwheels, took a gazillion pictures, and had a great week.  My friendship with Jessica was different and very special to me.  We continued to be great friends, lived together for a year, and were bridesmaids in one another’s weddings.

Jess is moving to Switzerland in 10 days.

This is her husband Paul.

Paul is working on his PhD in chemistry, and his advisor invited him along to an amazing new job in Switzerland.  This college is like the MIT of Europe.  Albert Einstein taught there.  This is a huge honor.  And an amazing adventure for a young married couple.  I am so excited for them.  It sucks that Jess is moving so far away, but I have a feeling we will make it a point to stay in better touch than we have the last year and a half that she has lived in Minneapolis. 

Jess and Paul made one last visit last week before the big move.  It was a quick visit, but I so appreciate them coming to my house for a special farewell.  I took them to see manatees in the freezing cold and to eat some famous Plant City strawberry shortcake, you know, so they can remember the Florida life. 🙂

I love you, Jess and Paul!  We are praying for you as you begin this exciting adventure!

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am (not) Switzerland

  1. randel says:

    exciting for them!!!! and maybe a vacation place for us?? 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Aww! Thanks, Jayce! It was great seeing you and I’m going to miss you so much. So please be consistent in your blogging… I want to hear all about 2010’s adventures! Love you very much! 🙂

  3. Rizzo says:

    WOW… what a great opportunity!

    Jealous of the strawberry shortcake though! God back and eat some for me.

Leave a Reply

