Dinks

My sister Shelly recently informed me that Matt and I are Dinks – double income, no kids.  She said buying my plane ticket to Portland for our May trip should be no prob, and while I’m at it I could buy hers, too.  😉

Um, let me tell you that dinks have debt, too.  Dink debt.  We are working on that, and with the help of my night shift differential should have it under control before long.  But even with that, I have to admit that it is nice to not need to worry.  And it is nice to see how we are able to help others and our church with our money.

My favorite part about being Dinks is that we still get to plan our own time.  I set my own sleep schedule, fit in workouts whenever I want to, visit friends and family regularly and without the stress of bringing along babies and all the stuff they need.  I am SO excited to start a family, but I am SO enjoying life for now.

This week this Dink actually worked during the daytime!  I spent all of Monday and Tuesday working in cardiac cath recovery.  Basically, I pulled sheaths out of patients’ groins and applied pressure for 10-15 minutes.  Wahoo!  But really, it is a good skill to know just for knowledge sake.  It was interesting to work a couple day shifts and to see what that type of unit (no weekends or holidays!) is like.  The nurses all seem to enjoy it, and it is super flexible.  Maybe a good job for me once I am no longer a Dink?

We had this patient today that broke my heart.  He was 52 and obese.  The doctor discovered disease (severe blockage) in all of his coronary arteries, as well as an aortic aneurysm.  He was told that instead of going home today, as planned, he was being admitted to have major surgery tomorrow.  He was unphased.  When I asked if he wanted some toast or juice (he hadn’t eaten since yesterday), he turned his nose up and said he wished he could have some McDonald’s.  Denial.  Denial, denial, denial.  I did not think for a second about skipping the gym after work today.

Take care of yourselves people – don’t wait for a scary wake-up call.

This Dink is tired.  And I bet ya’ll are tired of me calling myself a Dink.  So goodnight!  I need to rest up so I can visit Krystil (former Dink) and her new baby Kaley tomorrow morning!

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinks

  1. rrumary1 says:

    You crack me up.. Dinks!

  2. Rizzo says:

    glad to see you are enjoying your life as a DINK!

Leave a Reply

