Calamari, calories, and the Comeback

Here are some of the eating lifestyle changes/choices I am making as of late:

  • drink mostly water, esp. at restaurants (saves money and excess soda/tea intake due to refills)
  • eat the “unhealthy” things I want, just keep it to a couple bites
  • eat every meal starting with the “best” bite, so that it is easier to stop

So far, it’s been a breeze, and I don’t even have to think very much about it, especially when I eat at home and have more control of the prep and portions to begin with.  I think the difficulty will come when I eat out, during times that my work schedule makes me feel like a crazy person, and when I am traveling or visiting family.

Friday night we went to an amazing dinner with my in-laws at Bonefish Grill.  I L O V E Bonefish.  We had our rehearsal dinner there and enjoy going whenever we get the chance, so Friday night was a real treat.  We ordered calamari as an appetizer, and it was oh-so-tasty.  I ordered one of the night’s specials for dinner – grilled salmon with spinach and gorgonzola on top, plus potatoes au gratin and veggies on the side.  Mmmm…  I enjoyed it all and didn’t go overboard.  I ordered water to drink and drank two glasses throughout dinner.  The calamari at Bonefish is my fave, but I still stuck to eating just two pieces (with sauce) and savoring them.  I ate only one small piece of the delicious warm bread dipped in olive oil with pine nuts and spices.  Then, the meal – I ate just under half of each part and felt perfectly satisfied.  I had the rest boxed up and ate it for lunch on Saturday.  So good!  I really should make salmon at home more often.

As far as calories go… I am not even thinking about them these days.  Calorie counting does absolutely nothing to motivate me and only leads to frustration.  I mean, back in the day (well, I guess technically a very long time ago) they didn’t even know what a calorie was, and the world did not have this giant obesity problem.  I think it’s all about balance – balancing healthy foods with less healthy foods, balancing eating with exercising, balancing work with rest.  Sounds easy, but I think we all know that in this busy, non-stop society it can become extremely difficult.

During high school, I lost a lot of weight very fast, and I did it by obsessively counting calories and working out.  I would give myself major restrictions and barely eat anything.  Then, I would do really ridiculous workouts to be sure I was in the negative.  For instance, almost every night I would watch TV in my room while riding my stationary bike for hours – buring over 2,000 calories each time.  I was obsessed!  And I don’t ever want to be like that again.  I am a lot stronger mentally now (thanks to God’s promises stored in me now), and I don’t want to tempt myself to use those ridiculous methods ever again.

So, that’s where I’m coming from and where I am now.  I read several healthy living blogs, and while I enjoy them and like to see the pictures of the bloggers’ daily meals and such (gives me good ideas), I do not plan to do the same on a daily basis.  I think I would not be able to be completely real about it, and I would obsess more than necessary in order to make my daily choices look healthy.  I will share more details about meals and such when I try out new recipes or just really want to share a particular thing.

And now… the Comeback!  I slept in until after 9 today, and when I woke up I looked outside to the most beautiful day!  The forecast last night said it was supposed to rain the first half of the day today, but thankfully it was wrong! 🙂  It was sunny and heading into the 70’s!  So, naturally, I knew today was the perfect day to begin my Comeback to the world of running.  After some time with God (praising him for this beautiful day, as well as interceding for Haiti – big post on that tomorrow) and some yummy oatmeal for breakfast, I cleaned a little and then set out for a run!  It was amazing!  I have not been for a real run since early December.  At that point, I was only running about twice a week and was only up to about 3 miles.  I was not stretching enough and was having a lot of random issues – tight hamstrings, ankles feeling weak, etc.  My personal Comeback plan is all about just that – planning!  This includes planning my runs beforehand to be sure I am making time for them, planning a LOT of stretching before and after every run, and planning the content/timing of my pre-run meals.  I am going to do this planning on a weekly basis for now so that I can change things up as I add distance to my runs.

Today’s run was excellent!  I was well-fueled, which I think helped.  I did a lot of stretching before leaving the house – both upper and lower body since I felt really tight from a sculpting class at the Y yesterday.  I decided to do the entire loop that our neighborhood is off of.  This loop is 4.1 miles total and always has a good amount of people running, walking, and biking it, and it has markings on the sidewalk every 1/4 mile.  It is one of my favorite things about living in this house.  I started off running the first mile, which I finished in 9:06!  I was not intending to start off that fast, but I think I got carried away with my enthusiasm and the beautiful weather.  After that first mile, I decided I needed to make sure I wasn’t pushing too hard, so I did a nice walk/run for the remainder of the loop.  I had my lovely new ipod in my lovely new armband (thanks, Krystil!), so I switched off walking fast for a song, then running for a song.  The only exception was when Mute Math’s “Spotlight (Twilight Mix)” (yes, it is from the Twilight soundtrack – which I love) came on for a walk segment and I couldn’t help but keep running – that is definitely a new favorite running song!  I did a lot of stretching when I got home, and I am feeling great.  I am very happy with day one of the Comeback!  🙂

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calamari, calories, and the Comeback

  1. rrumary1 says:

    Woo Hoo! Go Jayce!!

  2. Rizzo says:

    hey. I am finishing a book called The Weigh Down Diet by Gwen Shamblin. It is a Christian approach to weight loss based on eating when you are hungry and stopping when you are no longer hungry. She talks a lot about what you said, smaller portions, eating the best bite first, eat what you want/crave but only when you are hungry and stop when you’re not. It is a great motivator and in addition to being a grounded Christian, she is also a registered dietitian and has a master’s in food and nutrition so I trust her advice. Most of all it just make sense. People have major surgery to force themselves to eat smaller portions when if we could all just have more self-control we could do the same while saving ourselves lots of money and pain. I agree that eating out is the test. We ate out the other night for the first time in forever and I overate and I felt that horrible overfull feeling that I had not felt in a long time and it reminded me of how not-pleasant of a feeling that is and motivated me to stay on this new course. I love you and miss you!

  3. Jayce says:

    Yeah, I actually have that book, too! I think it was mom’s or Shelly’s and somehow I endedup with it. I read a lot of it a long time ago and really liked what she had to say. I thought about pulling it back out recently, but honestly the last thing I need in my life right now is another book. I think most of my beliefs about “how to eat” stem from both that book and my intuition.

Leave a Reply

