Not too tired

You know those times when you are just SO tired and weary, and all you want to do is whine about it?  When you feel like you have to go around slouchy and grumpy because you just don’t have the energy to hold yourself straight and smile?  When everything annoys you and you are tempted to knowingly slack off on responsibilities? 

My three nights at work this week were like that for me.  I was feeling tired and cranky on the inside, and I just wanted to let it out!  Nights like that are always so challenging for me because one way my flesh tries to tell me to deal with it is to slack off on my work and “rest.”  And even just thinking those thoughts makes me feel like a wretched person.  Trade my integity for some extra time sitting on my butt?

Thankfully, the Lord has taught me to be equipped to go up against anything – including the desires of my own selfish flesh.  He has taught me to be equipped with the Word.  His Word is powerful, and it blows this weak flesh out of the water!  I have not worked on memorizing Bible verses in a while, but I plan to start back.  These verses were ones that popped into my mind at work Wednesday night, but sadly it was only bits and pieces, which is what tells me I need to spend time storing God’s promises and instruction in my mind more regularly.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God… Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees.  Make level paths for your feet, so that the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed.” Hebrews 12:1-2, 12-13  (The last part of this one speaks so personally to me as a nurse and a disciple of the Healer.)

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training.  They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.  Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air.  No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.” 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

“Then I realized that it is good and proper for a man to eat and drink, and to find satisfaction in his toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given him – for this is his lot.  Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, to accept his lot and be happy in his work – that is a gift of God.  He seldom reflects on the days of his life, because God keeps him occupied with gladness of heart.” Ecclesiastes 5:18-20 

I am SO blessed to have found a job I love doing and that is so rewarding.  Matt and I are SO blessed to have the wealth and possessions we have.  We have stable jobs to provide, a house with a comfy bed to rest on, plenty of food on our table, friends and family that are safe and healthy.  I think of the people of Haiti and of so many other poor and suffering places in the world and know that many of those people have NONE of these things.

Night shift can be difficult, yes, but the fact is that I am called to so much more than just doing some job to make money.  I am called to care for the sick and hurting, and to be a face of Jesus to them and to my coworkers.  And I’m not too tired to do that, never too tired with the Lord’s help.

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not too tired

  1. Jessica says:

    You are so blessed to be where you are! I’m so happy you love your job. That is awesome. 🙂 And I was thinking… maybe your night shifts will make it easier to talk to me! When you leave work it will be my lunch time and when you are getting ready it will be when Im getting ready for bed! Sound good?! Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

