Friends

I met up with my friend Gina today for a late breakfast.   (Forgot to get a current pic! 😦 )   

Gina and me at a wedding in 2007

 

 We met through our college ministry, then ended up spending a lot of time together when we were in the same small group and had some classes together.  We had physiology class together and were lab partners, then the next semester had anatomy class together and were lab partners again. We spent a lot of time studying together, and I will never forget the two of us getting our first ever “B” in anatomy.  It sucked, but I think we both agreed that it was a bit freeing.  🙂   This cracks me up:   

Funny cartwheel shot of Gina and me in 2007

 

Gina now lives in Bradenton, which is about an hour away from me, so we met up in the middle.  I have not made many new friends since moving back to Tampa, so it was so great to catch up with her.  As it turns out, Gina is planning on running the Gasparilla 5K this month also!  We are going to try to meet up again soon for a run.  🙂   

The other day I found a teddy bear in my backyard… someone loves me.  🙂   

   

I guess today was just a day for friends because Matt and I had dinner with a big group of friends tonight.  We went to Kobe Japanese Steakhouse, and it was so much fun!   

  

We went with 4 other couples from church, all youth pastors/leaders and wives.  Matt and I have been wanting to find other couples to hang out with, so we were so glad to get to spend the evening with such fun people.  I got in a lot of much needed laughter.  🙂  

 

Running is going well.  I have been increasing my mileage a little each run while trying to maintain a 10:00 pace.  For some reason my legs have been wanting to speed up a lot, but I want to be smart and not do too much too fast.  I had a pretty painful right knee injury after my half marathon in 2007.  The ortho doc said it was just a “runner’s knee” type thing… I don’t know, but I do NOT want to deal with any injuries, especially injuries I could prevent by smart training.  In my sculpting classes at the gym, we will occasionally do glute exercises where we lie on the ground with our knees bent and squeeze the exercise ball between our knees while lifting off the ground, and for whatever reason that of all things causes my knee to hurt again.  Needless to say, I skip the ball on that one.  I have not had any pain while running and am praying I am all healed.   

I am having a hard time putting together a running playlist that is just right.  Do you have any suggestions for songs that are good to run/dance/workout to?

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friends

  1. Erin says:

    It’s so much fun to meet up with old friends. Part of the reason I’m so raring to move back into the city is that all of my best friends from college live there and even being 30 minutes away, it’s just not the same access.

    My current workout faves are I Gotta Feeling (Black Eyed Peas) and My Life Would Suck Without You (Kelly Clarkson). Good beats.

  2. Jessica says:

    Yummmmm!!! That Kobe picture makes me really hungry and wish I could go out to eat like that. 🙂 JEALOUS

    You’re doing awesome on your training! I suck. I climb stairs. sometimes. and walk fast to the tram stop. I’m going to be terrible. 🙂

    My new great ‘workout’ song is Evacuate the Dancefloor by Cascada (edited). LOVE IT! Next time we’re together, we can dance to it. Yes! Love you 🙂

  3. Rizzo says:

    you got a “B”!?! I have been lying about you being a straight “A” lifer all this time!?! I still love you though.

    So happy you guys are having such a great time as a married couple- there are so many people that look back and have regrets about their “before kids” life. We never even had a chance at that life (kid #1 being born the day after our 1 year anniversary!) but we enjoy our date nights on Fridays now and we will have plenty of time after our kids are grown to enjoy each other. anyway, happy to see you happy!

    No advice on the songs since my pilates songs would not be good to run to!

Leave a Reply

