Early Valentine’s

Matt and I had a date night Friday night!

I am working Sunday night, so we made Friday our Valentine’s Day.  I think Valentine’s Day is a little silly and that people typically go way over-the-top, but of course I do enjoy being spoiled by my man!  So I was very happy when he walked in the door after work with roses in his hand!  Special orange roses – my favorite color.  🙂

Then, we headed out to dinner.  Matt had texted me earlier in the day to tell me we had dinner reservations at 6:00, but I had no idea where we were going.  In the car he said he hoped I was “ready for a good steak.”  I could tell he was trying to mislead me, and he was so cute and excited about surprising me.  Matt thinks I always ruin surprises, but really all I ever do is ask the tiniest question and he ends up blabbing, so this time I just smiled and waited.  🙂

I was so surprised with where we went – a fabulous Indian restaurant!  I went to India a few years ago and fell IN LOVE with Indian food (once my stomach got used to it).  We recently noticed this new Indian restaurant nearby, and I always talk about wanting to try it.  Matt did a great job! 

This place was uh-maz-ing!!!  It was hard to decide what to order, but I ended up going with my classic favorite, Tandoori Chicken.  The chicken was delish, and those saffron creamed potatoes were very impressive.  The rice was only so-so.  Next time I am going to order the coconut rice and pay a little extra.

Matt got the Tandoori Mixed Grill, which included Tandoori Chicken and two other types of chicken (one was weird and tasted like spearmint), as well as lamb and shrimp.  I tasted most of it, and it was all incredible.

On the side we had some naan, which was definitely THE BEST naan I have ever had and my favorite part of the meal.  Seriously, it was melt-in-your-mouth good!  I guess I am easy to please.

Matt was raving about the food just as much as I was, so I am sure we will be going back.  Woohoo!  🙂

After dinner, we headed to the mall to buy curtains!  Not really a normal date activity, but I was so excited.  We have a big sliding-glass door that leads from our living room to the back porch, and I have been eagerly waiting for the right time to buy curtains since we moved in back in August.  Matt got a bonus recently, so we decided it was time.  I had actually gone curtain shopping on Monday and compared at different stores, so I already knew what I wanted and just needed Matt’s opinion.  The curtains I picked were from JCPenney and were on sale for half off!  The sale ended the next day, so Matt approved and we bought them!  Then we bought a curtain rod, hooks, and hold-backs at BB&B.  Woohoo!  I am hoping Matt will put them up this weekend so it will all just be done.  Pics to come!  😉

I looove ice cream, so we went to Cold Stone for a special yummy treat!  Mmm, so good.  It was cold, rainy, and windy out, so we came back home and watched a Redbox movie while snuggling on our big, comfy couch!  I love date nights.  🙂

Are you doing/did you do anything special for Valentine’s Day?

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Valentine’s

  1. Jessica says:

    Awww! Sounds like so much fun! I will definitely have to try that restaurant out when I come visit again. Paul got me some really pretty tulips on Friday and Lindt truffles. YUM 🙂

  2. Krystil says:

    Sounds like you guys had a fun date night! The food sounded delicious and I can’t wait to see the curtains. I miss date nights 😦

Leave a Reply

