So Long, Insecurity

Due to my ever-changing work schedule and the messed up sleep schedule that puts me on, it has been very difficult to commit to many extra things in my life lately.  One of those things has been organized Bible study.  Our church does women’s Bible studies a few times a year, and they actually make it very accessible to women by offering it on Thursday mornings as well as evenings.  This doesn’t help me much, however, since I am too tired to go in the morning  if I work the night before and unable to go in the evening if I work that night.  I tried to participate in a Beth Moore study last fall but was unable to make it consistently, and I just don’t like being that person that shows up only every now and then.  So, I skipped on the newest study the church is doing in hopes my schedule will be more predictable next time. 

Well, I just want something to do in community with other women, so I have decided to participate in an online discussion group while reading through Beth Moore’s new book, So Long, Insecurity.  The discussion group is through the Living Proof Ministries blog, which is run by Beth Moore and her two daughters.  They did a “roll call” of participating women, and over 6000 responded!  Whoa!  Each week, there will be a reading “assignment” of a couple chapters (it’s a really easy read) and a couple of discussion questions posted on the blog.  Anyone can comment and share on the posts, so there will be interaction.  My plan is to keep up with the reading and answer the questions in my journal each week, as well as sharing on this blog sometimes.  I think I will probably end up reading bits and pieces of the comments (there will be tons, I’m sure) and maybe commenting when I feel like there is something I really want to share.  This book is not one of  the in-depth Bible studies Beth is known for, but it is a topic that I know almost all women, including myself, could use some help with.  Insecurity can be so crippling, and this book is intended to be a catalyst in a journey toward freedom from insecurity.  With the Lord’s help, we can move past the insecurities that hold us back from fully pursuing and living our purpose in this world.  I would still really like to find a real face-to-face Bible study soon, but I am excited about this for now.  🙂

The book has been good so far.  I have completed the first two chapters, which is the reading assignment for week one.  Before starting, Beth encouraged everyone to write a journal-type  entry on the inside cover of the book detailing your present season of life and reasons for reading the book and participating.  I did this and am excited to go back and read it later on so I can see the growth I experience. 

Beth posted two reflection questions based on this week’s reading.  Here are my answers:

  1. When was the last time you came face-to-face with our gender’s massive struggle with insecurity?  Describe the setting.     I feel like I see the struggle everywhere I look!  Teenage girls walking around the neighborhood or in public areas dressed in clothes that only a married woman should wear in front of her husband, discussion between myself and others of our gender-related struggles at work (because most of the doctors are male and seem to treat female nurses differently than male nurses) and in the home.  Honestly, I feel the struggle a lot within myself in my marriage and with my friends on a daily basis – always comparing myself and feeling like I don’t measure up or am not as “good” at things as I should be.
  2. What part of the definition or description of insecurity resonated most with you and why?     What resonated most with me was the description of the need for approval and harmony.  I cannot stand the thought of losing someone’s favor.  I have always been such a people-pleaser, and that has been one of the biggest struggles of character for me – to get past the need to please and earn the approval of other humans in order to feel secure in a situation or relationship.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading.  🙂  I like this book so far and would love to hear the thoughts of anyone else that is participating or just wants to chime in.

I am headed to central Florida soon to stay with my sister tonight so that I can drive my mom to a colonoscopy early in the morning.  Please say a prayer that she is still cancer-free!

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Long, Insecurity

  1. Jessica says:

    You’ll have to let me know how you like doing this online and everything. Maybe I’ll do something like that! Great idea 🙂

    Prayin for your mom!

Leave a Reply

