Gasparilla!

I did it!  It was a cold and rainy morning, but not too bad for running.

We got to the race expo early to pick up our packets, then headed over to the finish line to catch my dad as he finished running the 15K.  My dad is my running hero.  🙂  He has done 7 marathons and a ton of other races, which I think is pretty fabulous!  Also, he ran the Gasparilla Half Marathon with me back in 2007 and stuck by my side the entire time when he could have finished much faster.  Amazing.

Then, it was our turn.  It was suuuper crowded, and we had to do a lot of weaving in and out of people and jumping up onto the sidewalks and median.  Rebekah and I finished the Gasparilla 5K in right under 30 minutes – 29:55 chip time!  Under 30 was our goal!  I am happy with this but would definitely like my next 5K to be at least 3 minutes faster.  Guess I should start working on speed.  😉  Rebekah had to push me a little bit to even keep the pace we did, so I was so glad she ran with me.  Matt, my dad, and Casey (Rebekah’s boyfriend) met us at the finish line with hugs!

After our race, we all headed to Cracker Barrel for breakfast.  CB is my favorite.  😉

My little sister Anna came to breakfast, too!

This week has been a very long, exhausting one.  I feel like I’ve barely seen Matt, so I am off to relax with my hubby!  My friend Rachel is coming to visit tomorrow!  🙂

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gasparilla!

  1. Meghann says:

    Congrats!!! I’m sorry I missed seeing you! I guess I was on a mission to watch Derek cross that finish line! 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Yay! Good job! Hope you enjoyed enough Cracker Barrel for me too! 🙂

  3. Rizzo says:

    woo-hoo for you!!! what a great time too.

    Dad’s mustache is almost all gray now huh? I guess that’s what 6 kids and 10 grandkids will do to a man!!!

    Anyway, you are beautiful! Can’t wait to see you again in June! ; )

  4. Heather says:

    Congrats!!!! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

