5K race recap

Well, the race was a success and lots of fun was had.  It was a beautiful and warm day, and we really enjoyed hanging out in St. Pete near the water.  However, I did not PR.  😦 

Notice my number – 4 and 21 are “my” numbers, and I tend to put 421 on my email addresses, etc.  🙂

I didn’t think I cared much about a PR until it didn’t happen, then I was mad at myself for not trying harder.  My time was 30:37, which is 42 seconds slower than my last 5K.  I guess now I know that I do care more than I thought and will be training harder despite everyday hindrances from now on.  The race was mostly on a race track that is being used for a Honda Grand Prix event this weekend.  There were a couple of turns where I could see the runners ahead of me, so I had fun yelling out and cheering Matt on as we passed.

Matt did awesome!  He pushed hard and ran a 29:32!  I am so proud!  We said our goodbyes at the start line because I did not want to get in his way.  He was determined. 

You see, Matt and I handle stress/anxiety/anticipation very differently.  I stay very calm on the exterior and actually end up being silly and very light-hearted before a race.  Usually the point at which I admit my anxiety is when I suddenly feel the urge (real or not) to pee just before the start.  Matt, however, gets super focused and has a hard time with my silliness.  He just wants to focus on his goal and pump himself up.  If I tell him to “calm down” he gets annoyed. 

I wish I had stayed with Matt and pushed myself because I know I could have kept up, but at the time I just wanted to get away from his high-strung emotions.  Besides, I think he is enjoying the fact that he was faster than I was, and I am okay with that.

Since the race benefitted the Challenged Athletes Foundation (CAF) and other groups that support wounded veterans, there were a lot of amputees and other challenged athletes at the race.  I think Matt really enjoyed being around other amputees, and we even talked with a couple.  Matt actually went up to one guy that had almost the exact same length stump and asked him about his running leg.  Matt asked him, “How is it running with one of those?” and the guy pointed to Matt’s prosthetic and said, “Way better than that!”  They talked for a while, and the guy gave Matt some pointers on the prosthetic and technology, etc.  Matt has had issues this past year with trying out new leg stuff, so I think he felt really encouraged talking to this guy.  The CAF raises funds to help challenged athletes stay active and compete, so they help people like Matt (who are not veterans and thus do not have the hook-up with prosthetic stuff) to be able to afford the things they need to overcome their disabilities.  Matt has now met several people from CAF and is going to pursue further involvement with the organization.  I am all for it!  I’m so glad he is getting excited about running, too.

After the race we went to Chipotle for dinner!!  I have been wanting Chipotle for about a year, but we do not have one close to us and every time we are near one and I mention it Matt whines that he’s not in the mood.  I took a pic of my yummy ginormous burrito (which I are half of):

Aaaand, now it’s past midnight.  Oops.  Gotta rest up for a very busy day tomorrow!

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5K race recap

  1. Quick Question, what happened to your husbands leg?

    • Jayce says:

      Well, he originally broke his right ankle playing soccer when he was 6. He had three srgeries as a kid, but it never really healed back correctly. He spent years in a cast as a child, then was able to be active as a teenager. As an adult, he had more problems, dealt with severe chronic pain, and had more failed surgeries. He eventually elected to have a right below the knee amputation. He is able to be active and pain-free now – he wishes he had done it sooner!

  2. Jessica says:

    Well, I think your time is amazing and fast! You’d definitely beat me. And that’s awesome about CAF and Matt. I can only imagine how hard it is to not have anyone around to talk to that REALLY understands.

    Oh, and I showed Paul the Chipotle pic and he put on a really upset face and told me to tell you he is so jealous and that you better be sending him one. 😉 Im actually a little jealous too even though it is Chipotle. I just miss HUGE yummy burritos!

Leave a Reply

