The great outdoors

It’s been a while since I’ve done a real post… sorry about that!  We’ve been busy bees!

We have been trying to get outside and enjoy the weather as much as possible.  A couple weekends ago we did some minor landscaping just to add some color and try and brighten up the house.  Matt planted some pretty annuals in the beds out front.  Here he is in action (he thinks he looks like a goober):

April 2010 006

April 2010 007

And the final product:

April 2010 012

April 2010 014

April 2010 015

It is simple but looks nice with the new mulch and the bits of color.  The sun and temps have been fierce lately, so we have been watering the flowers a little each day to keep them pretty.  The next project is to sod the backyard.  Matt’s little makeshift sod plugs from last fall did not really take, and the weeds are out of control.  Now that it’s the season for mowing our lawn (aka weeds) again, we are ready to get the real thing.  Matt has been pricing different places, and a guy from one company came out today to check out the yard and give us an estimate.  I think we have decided to go ahead and pay for installation so we can just get it done fast and correctly. 

I just love the colors and liveliness of spring!  I have been trying to bring some of that inside in small ways.  Check out this adorable kitchen towel I recently found at Kohl’s.  I love it.

April 2010 011

Last Friday I had a class for work over in St. Pete, so Matt came over and we hung out with his parents that evening.  We went to dinner at a nice seafood place near the water and downtown St. Pete.  We sat outside to eat, and it was so nice.

April 2010 018

And on Saturday we went to the beach!!!  For real this time!  I went with a coworker last week for pedicures and a movie (I loved The Last Song!), so at the beach I got to show off my lovely bright pink toes.

April 2010 020

It was such a perfect beach day!  The sun was bright and hot, but it wasn’t so humid that we were sweating buckets.  The water was still a little cold, but there were still a ton of people playing in it so I guess it is warming up to its normal swimmable temperature.  We laid out and read for a couple hours, then walked down the street for a nice lunch on the beach, and finished it off with another hour of laying out.  Perfect!

April 2010 021 

I want to give a shout-out to my lovely friend Rachel who just landed a job at The Breakers resort in Palm Beach!  That place is fancy schmancy and so pretty!  Congrats, Rachel!  Who wouldn’t want to work here:

I am off for the next couple of days and have some fun things planned.  Tomorrow I am going to buy a bunch of fresh (cheap!) strawberries and try my hand at making homemade jam!  I bought the canning supplies today and am so excited.  If it turns out good I should have a bunch to give away, so place your orders!

Edited to add:

I forgot to talk about Easter!!!  I think Easter is my favorite holiday.  Celebrating Jesus dying and rising again to save me – yes!  And while there are a lot of secular traditions associated with it, it is still very easy to stay on track and celebrate the real meaning.  We should be celebrating “Easter” in our hearts every day.  Matt and I spent the day with family.  We were up early and over in St. Pete for the 9 a.m. service at his parents’ church (where we were married), then had Easter lunch and goodies at their house.  Twas delish!  We headed back home early afternoon, then went over to my dad’s house for a bit of hanging out, Wii playing (addicted to Mario Bros.), and dinner at Chili’s.  Good day and good God!

Easter (April 4th) was also my sister Marissa’s birthday!!  Happy Birthday, Riss!!  I love you so very much.  🙂

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The great outdoors

  1. Jessica says:

    Love the flowers and love that youre makin jam! I can’t wait to taste me some Jayce Jam! hehe 🙂

  2. Tiffany says:

    The flowers are pretty and Matt doesn’t look like a goober. :0)
    We were in St. Pete on Saturday, it was a beautiful day!

  3. Rizzo says:

    in the goober picture I thought Matt was dad…the profile, sunglasses, and hat…then I saw the leg. Anyway, I think it is sweet that he planted you flowers! and they look fabulous!

  4. Rach says:

    Thanks for hte shot out!! Sorry it’s taken me so long to read it! I think I talked to you the day you did this too! I miss you bunches and I can’t wait until you and Matt come visit and stay in the SWEET hotel! (If the price is right!) Love you!

  5. Rach says:

    wow I didn’t re read that! “thanks for the shout out” haha I went to college!

Leave a Reply

