Grace is here!!

I am an aunt again!!  Eleven times and counting!  It never gets old.  After a long and complicated labor, Grace Elizabeth was born on Wednesday night, April 14th, at 6:55 pm!  Isn’t she precious!?

April 2010 044

I am so proud of my sister Shelly and her husband Jon.  They are troopers.  This was supposed to be a home birth, but God had other plans.  Shelly spent several days in labor with trouble progressing.  They eventually went ahead and did a Cesarean and discovered that Grace’s umbilical cord was wrapped around her little body and around her neck.  God always knows the whole story and works everything for our best.  🙂

April 2010 042

Please pray for the family’s adjustment and especially for Shelly’s recovery.  She is still having very bad gas pain from the air that got in during surgery, and she also has very swollen legs and feet because of all the fluids during surgery and the two days prior. 

I made the two-hour drive up twice during the labor, but due to work I ended up missing Grace’s birth.  I went up for the day today and finally got to hold that precious baby!

April 2010 061

Big siblings Lydia and Micah came to visit their new baby sister, too.  They are so adorable and sweet with her!  Nate didn’t come today since he is such a little busybody (he’s 2).

April 2010 036

April 2010 038

Our dad (Papa) was nearby for work and stopped in for a visit, too!

April 2010 053

Grace was very sleepy all day today.  She looks so much like Lydia and makes the funniest faces both asleep and awake.  Here is a funny video we made while trying to wake her up to nurse:

Welcome to the world, Grace!  We love you!  🙂

April 2010 058

About Jayce

I am a lover of Jesus, a newlywed, part of a crazy sisterhood of 4, aunt to 10 fabulous kids, a Registered Nurse, a work in progress, and an amateur cook/baker! I was born and raised in Florida, and I am loving it still. My husband, Matt, and I bought our first house last year and are enjoying making it into a home. I work nights in the ICU for now, and we are making the most of this life. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grace is here!!

  1. Erin says:

    What a cutie! You are obviously a very proud aunt and Grace is lucky to have you.

  2. Jessica says:

    SOOO adorable! Even her whiney cries are cute!

  3. Rach says:

    She is too precious! I loooove the faces! Auntie Jaycee Wayceee BoBo Farts is the best! 🙂

  4. Gretchen says:

    Jayce, thanks so much for posting the news and pics! I have been waiting to hear the news. Please tell Shelly congratulations for me and and I’m thinking of her! xoxoxox

  5. Sharon says:

    Wow 11 times. Congrats! She has the same birthday as my husband.

  6. ashley blahnik says:

    that baby looks good on you 😉

  7. Rizzo says:

    so precious! I love the look on Micah’s face!

  8. Monique says:

    Congrats Auntie!! She is so yummy!!

Leave a Reply

